Mission: to provide the best possible informational, educational, cultural and recreational services in a warm and inviting environment.
The Thompson Public Library/Community Center is a 20,400 square foot facility. The collection consists of about 55,000 items — books, books on CD, DVDs, music CDs, 90+ magazine & newspaper subscriptions, and access to various online resources.
The Thompson Public Library was incorporated in 1902 with a collection of 1,370 books in 1,990 square feet of space.
Located on Thompson Hill in a charming stone building, the main library outgrew its space and two branches were opened, one in Grosvenordale in 1958 and one in Quinebaug in 1961.
The year 1966 saw more changes as the Quinebaug branch was enlarged and the Grosvenordale branch was closed. The town of Thompson was the first small town in Connecticut to have a bookmobile service in 1966, acquiring an official vehicle in 1970 that ran until 1993. A new, larger location was established in North Grosvenordale with an innovative After School Program started in 1987.
The new Thompson Public Library/ Community Center is a modern facility that serves the residents of the various villages as well as those from surrounding communities. When the new library was completed in 1994 the branches were closed and bookmobile service was discontinued. Today the library has a collection of 55,000 items with new technology and facilities to offer while maintaining a friendly, personal service.
The book History of the Thompson Library, written by Ron Tillen, is available for purchase at the Library.